Want to write

Well it’s been so long since I put thought to iPad. , Every time I think about it the page is all blank again. There’s been a world pandemic keeping us all busy. Why is it then, even though I’ve not left the house since the middle of March, I seem to be busier than ever? 🤷‍♀️

COVID has brought positives & negatives. We’ve regrouped as a family, been able to spend ‘quality’ time together. I’ve not missed the crazy Saturday morning rushing to clubs, or speed tea making and eating before ensuring everyone is delivered to their after school club. I’ve loved the slower pace to life, and just being the five of us in our home. But some weeks time just seems to have stood still, while the mess around the house has just piled up. I mean, you know no one is just going to ‘drop in’, and there are no planned visitors coming, so no rushing around to tidy up.

The downside of lockdown has been it’s just ‘you’ and ‘them’. There have been moments when we’ve just needed ‘our space’. We’ve all isolated between ‘I’m fine’, and the sky is falling down. Some days, for no apparent reason, my emotions have got the better of me, and other days when I’ve been the life and sole of the kitchen party singing alone to 80’s hits on the radio.

As I reflect I realise I’ve learnt new things about me, new things about him, and new things about them. I’ve not suddenly mastered a new skill, or got to the bottom of the pile of things to do. But I have built memories with my family. We’ve laughed, cried, shouted and screamed. But we’ve also made up, said sorry, drawn closer and strengthened our bond. Coming out of lockdown feels daunting and a little scary. And if I’m honest there is definitely part of me that want it to remain this way. I’m enjoying this new rhythm and pace to life. But we can’t. Life has to move on, things have to change. So as we prepare for the return to school, a change of pass back to the old and the ‘new normal’, I’m also preparing to take these lessons with me. I’m looking forward and planning ahead, while being in the here and now and taking note of the rhythm of family life.

I’m looking forward and planning ahead, while being in the here and now and taking note of the rhythm of family life.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑